Board of Directors

Based on the expertise they bring to the industry, Members of the Board of Directors for the Walkerton Clean Water Centre (Centre) are appointed by the Government of Ontario. Members hold office for a term of up to two years and are eligible for reappointment for successive terms. The Board is accountable to the Ontario legislature through the Minister of the Environment and Climate Change. It is responsible for the overall supervision of the operations of the Centre. The Board also contributes to the development of the rolling three-year business planning process by reviewing performance measures linked to the Centre's strategic directions.

Rui De Carvalho, M. Eng., P.Eng., Past Chair

Senior Vice-President, R.J. Burnside and Associates Limited

Mr. De Carvalho has more than 40 years of experience as a consulting engineer in the water supply sector, both in Canada and internationally. In addition to various roles on municipal water supply projects, his experience also includes more than 25 years in the planning, design and implementation of water supply and infrastructure servicing in First Nations communities in Ontario, Alberta and Labrador.

Read More

Stephen Spitzig, CPA, CMA

Chartered Professional Accountant, Certified Management Accountant

Mr. Spitzig is an accountant in public practice with the Collins Barrow branch in Walkerton. He has been serving the farming and business community around the Walkerton area for more than 32 years. He received his Chartered Professional Accountant designation in 2014 and has had his Certified Management Accountant designation from the Society of Management Accountants of Ontario since 1999. Mr. Spitzig also has an Honours Bachelor of Business Administration degree from Wilfrid Laurier University.

Read More

Lou Anthony D'Alessandro

Public Health Inspector, North Bay Parry Sound District Health Unit, Environmental Health Division

Mr. D'Alessandro is a certified public health inspector and has been involved with public health for more than 35 years.

Read More

Delbert (Deb) Shewfelt

Mr. Shewfelt served on Goderich Town Council as Councillor, Reeve and Mayor for more than 28 years, 22 of those years as Mayor. He also served as a Huron County Councillor for four years in the 1970s and from 2000 to 2014, and is a past Warden of Huron County (2007). Prior to his position as Mayor of Goderich, Mr. Shewfelt worked as a real estate broker and land developer.

Read More

Laura Smit

Water/Wastewater Supervisor, Town of Whitchurch-Stouffville

Ms. Smit has dedicated more than 15 years to the operation and maintenance of water and wastewater systems. Born and raised in Orillia, Ontario, Ms. Smit began working with the Township of Severn in 2001. She served as Wastewater Plant Manager in Jasper, Alberta, before returning to Ontario in 2008, and is now working for the Town of Whitchurch-Stouffville.

Read More

Andrew Henry

Director, Regional Water Supply, Lake Huron & Elgin Area Water Supply Systems

Mr. Henry has an honours degree in civil and environmental engineering and is a registered professional engineer. Mr. Henry has held various positions in the municipal sector with the City of Etobicoke (now part of Toronto), the District of Chilliwack, British Columbia and the City of London, Ontario.

Read More

Keith Maracle M.Eng., P.Eng., PMP

Managing Director, FHR Inc.

Mr. Maracle is a professional engineer and a certified project management professional. He has varied experience in all facets of drinking water and wastewater design, development and operations.

Read More

Ellen Stitt

Senior Operator/Mechanic - Ontario Clean Water Agency

Ms. Stitt graduated from the Water Quality Technician program at Durham College in 2013 and brings a wide variety of practical experience as an operator of both drinking water and wastewater systems.

Read More

Deborah Martin-Downs

Chief Administrative Officer - Credit Valley Conservation Authority

Ms. Martin-Downs is the Chief Administrative Officer of the Credit Valley Conservation Authority, where she is responsible for all facets of strategic planning, finance, operations and land management. Prior to this role, she was the Director of the Ecology Division of the Toronto and Region Conservation Authority (TRCA). Prior to joining TRCA, Ms. Martin-Downs spent 16 years as an environmental consultant with Gartner Lee Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of AECOM Inc.

Read More

Lorri Bova

Technical Services Engineer - Six Nations of the Grand River

Ms. Bova brings extensive experience in all facets of drinking water and wastewater operations, with a special focus on First Nations communities. She has been certified as both a Class IV drinking water operator and a Class II wastewater operator.

Read More

Kari-Anne Last

Operations Project Coordinator - Water for the City of Barrie

Ms. Last is currently the Operations Project Coordinator — Water for the City of Barrie. In this role she leads a number of important initiatives including: maintaining and revising the Operational Plan under the Drinking Water Quality Management Standard (DWQMS); coordinating Risk Assessments; developing and facilitating internal operator training and providing support to water operations in the area of process optimization and legislative compliance.

Read More